After the conclusion of the ongoing five-match T20I series against the West Indies, India’s cricket team will make its way to Ireland for a three-match T20 series against the European nation. The matches are slated to be held at The Village in Dublin on Friday (August 18), Sunday (August 20), and Wednesday (August 23). A notable shift for this series is the appointment of Jasprit Bumrah as the new captain, in the absence of Hardik Pandya and Suryakumar Yadav. Bumrah’s return to competitive cricket after a hiatus since September 25, 2022, will take place against Ireland, a team that unfortunately did not secure a spot in the 2023 ODI World Cup.

Aside from Bumrah and Suryakumar Yadav, six additional players who are actively participating in the ongoing T20I series against the West Indies, a two-time T20 World Cup-winning team, will not be joining the action against Ireland.

Here’s a comprehensive overview of the alterations in India’s T20I squad for the Ireland series compared to the West Indies T20Is:

See also  Cricket's Shocking Twist: Five Star Players on the Brink of World Cup 2023 Disaster - Will They Make It?!"

Excluded Players: Among the eight players from the Indian squad for the T20I series against the West Indies who will not be partaking in the Irish series are T20I captain Hardik Pandya, his deputy Suryakumar Yadav, opening batsman Shubman Gill, wicketkeeper Ishan Kishan, all-rounder Axar Patel, spin duo Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal, and pacer Umran Malik.

Included Players: Returning to the squad after an absence of nearly 11 months, star pacer Jasprit Bumrah will lead the team in the three T20Is against Ireland. Additionally, Ruturaj Gaikwad makes a comeback after missing out on selection for the T20I series against the West Indies. Gaikwad will serve as Bumrah’s vice-captain. Joining them is spin bowling all-rounder Washington Sundar, along with Shivam Dube, who returns to the team after his impressive performances in the IPL 2023 for the Chennai Super Kings. The T20I squad also includes Prasidh Krishna, Jitesh Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed, and Rinku Singh, all of whom are yet to make their T20I debuts for the Indian cricket team.

See also  NZ vs PAK 2024: Eden Park, ऑकलैंड पिच का इतिहास और T20I रिकॉर्ड्स

Retained Players: Seven players, namely opener Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, wicketkeeper Sanju Samson, spinner Ravi Bishnoi, and the pace trio of Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, and Avesh Khan, have secured their spots in both squads and will continue their journey to Ireland after the conclusion of the West Indies T20Is.

The Indian squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Ireland includes: Jasprit Bumrah (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (Vice-Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Jitesh Sharma (wicketkeeper), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Prasidh Krishna, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, and Avesh Khan.