ODI World Cup 2023: Australian cricket team become the first among all participating nations to announce its preliminary squad for the forthcoming ICC Men’s 2023 ODI World Cup in India, starting from October 5 onwards. Cricket Australia took to X (formerly known as Twitter) to release the official 18-member squad list. The ICC have asked all participating nations to submit their ODI World Cup 2023 squads before September 28.

Australia will kickstart their ODI World Cup campain with a match against hosts India in Chennai on October 8. As per the squad announcement by Cricket Australia, uncapped duo of Aaron Hardie (all-rounder) and Tanveer Sangha (leg-spinner) have been picked in the Australia’s 18-member squad. Notably, only 15 will go into the 2023 ODI World Cup. Among notable absentees, star player Marnus Labuschagne is the biggest name.

The 29-year-old made his debut for Australia in January 2020 and has so far played 30 of Australia’s 38 matches since then, batting with an average of 31.37. Also, he was part of the Australia squad that defeated India in a three-match series, earlier this year in March.

See also  Jack Leach को ऑपरेशन कराना होगा: India-England Test series के दौरान घायल हुए घुटने के चिकित्सा कार्यक्रम के लिए

Captain Pat Cummins has been ruled out of action for six weeks due to a wrist fracture he suffered in fifth and final Ashes 2023 Test against England at The Oval. He is expected to join Australian squad f

Presenting your 18-player squad for the 2023 ODI World Cup, as well as two lead-in series against South Africa and India! 🏆🇦🇺 pic.twitter.com/h6jVWYJvMy

— Cricket Australia (@CricketAus) August 7, 2023

Pat Cummins has “an undisplaced fracture of his left radius which requires six weeks rehabilitation,” Australia’s selection chairman George Bailey revealed after the squad announcement.

“We view a period of enforced rest for Pat as a positive ahead of this important World Cup campaign.
“There are still a number of games he could play before the World Cup which is more than enough for him to have a strong preparation,” he further said.

Australia’s ODI squad: Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

See also  The New Look Wankhede Stadium Will Stun The Fans In World Cup 2023