Chennai Super Kings CEO Kasi Viswanathan has expressed strong confidence that MS Dhoni will fulfill his commitment and participate in the upcoming 2024 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) after the team retained their captain on the retention deadline this Sunday, November 26.

In a significant statement, Viswanathan downplayed concerns about Dhoni’s fitness, assuring that the star captain has been recovering successfully from knee surgery and will be fully prepared for the IPL 2024 season.

During the last IPL edition, Dhoni faced notable challenges with his knee, struggling with proper mobility. When asked about his participation in the next season, he mentioned that if he was fit, he would play for the fans who had supported him.

After winning the IPL 2023, Dhoni underwent knee surgery in Mumbai and has been actively engaged in various fitness exercises during his recovery. A recent video of him limping gained attention.

CSK CEO Kasi Viswanathan, in a video posted by the team, emphasized that MS Dhoni never backs down once he has given his word. He stated that Dhoni is fit, and the team is optimistic about seeing him in action in the upcoming season. Viswanathan said, “If our leader has given a word, he has never gone back. He already told what he was planning to do in that interview. I am sure that knowing MS, he will always do what he has committed to do. He is quite fit. Thalaivan is thalaivan (our leader is our leader).”

See also  KL Rahul's Miraculous Comeback Will Leave You Speechless! Find Out What He Overcame!

Chennai Super Kings have released players such as Ben Stokes, Dwaine Pretorius, Bhagath Varma, Subhranshu Senapati, Ambati Rayudu (Retired), Akash Singh, Kyle Jamieson, and Sisanda Magala. The retained players include Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (C & WK), Ajinkya Rahane, Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana, Mukesh Choudhary, Mitchell Santner, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Simarjeet Singh, Matheesha Pathirana, Tushar Deshpande, Prashant Solanki, Shaik Rasheed, Nishant Sindhu, and Ajay Mandal.