Certainly, here’s the provided content rewritten to be plagiarism-free:

By JOHN PYE, AP Sports Writer – The Cricket World Cup is set to commence in India next week, featuring an eagerly anticipated rematch of the 2019 final between England and New Zealand on October 5th. As the tournament approaches, let’s take a glance back at the previous 12 editions of this prestigious competition.

2019 in England:

  • The final concluded with England being declared winners through a countback of boundaries after both the match and the Super Over ended in ties.
  • Jos Buttler, England’s wicketkeeper, famously dubbed it “the most extraordinary (fantastic) game of cricket ever played.”
  • The final at Lord’s extended beyond nine hours, with New Zealand posting 241-8, and England narrowly missing victory by a single run, scoring 241 on the final ball of their allocated 50 overs.
  • England clinched their maiden World Cup title based on the number of fours and sixes scored during the final.

2015 in Australia and New Zealand:

  • Australia clinched a 7-wicket victory over New Zealand in the final.
  • New Zealand reached the World Cup final for the first time but fell short against Australia.
  • The final was held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, where Australia secured their first World Cup triumph on home soil.
  • Mitchell Starc and Trent Boult emerged as the top bowlers of the tournament, each claiming 22 wickets.
  • Martin Guptill was the tournament’s leading run-scorer with 547 runs.
See also  Shocking Milestone: Mohammed Shami Breaks Records in World Cup 2023 - You Won't Believe What Happened Next!

2011 in India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh:

  • India defeated Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in the final.
  • Sachin Tendulkar finally lifted a World Cup trophy, describing it as the pinnacle of his career.
  • India became the first team to win the World Cup on home soil.
  • Yuvraj Singh was named the player of the tournament for his exceptional performances.

2007 in the West Indies:

  • Australia defeated Sri Lanka by 53 runs in a rain-affected final.
  • Adam Gilchrist’s remarkable century in the final set the stage for Australia’s victory.
  • The tournament was overshadowed by the tragic death of Pakistan’s coach, Bob Woolmer, which initially triggered a homicide investigation but was later determined to be due to natural causes.

2003 in South Africa:

  • Australia defeated India by 125 runs in the final.
  • Australia retained the World Cup title, with Ricky Ponting’s century playing a pivotal role.
  • The tournament featured the first hat-trick in a World Cup by Chetan Sharma and a dramatic tie between Australia and South Africa.
  • Shane Warne was sent home from the tournament after testing positive for a banned substance.
See also  Wishes pour in for Sourav Ganguly on his 51st birthday

1999 in England and Wales:

  • Australia defeated Pakistan by 8 wickets in the final.
  • Shane Warne shone with four wickets in the final.
  • The tournament featured the famous tied match between Australia and South Africa, where South Africa was eliminated based on Australia’s earlier victory.
  • This World Cup marked the introduction of the Duckworth/Lewis Method for revising targets in rain-affected matches.

1996 in Pakistan, India, and Sri Lanka:

  • Sri Lanka defeated Australia by 7 wickets in the final.
  • Aravinda da Silva’s all-round brilliance guided Sri Lanka to their first World Cup victory.
  • The tournament ended on a high note despite a prolonged group stage.
  • The semifinal between India and Sri Lanka was abandoned due to crowd disturbances.

1992 in Australia and New Zealand:

  • Pakistan defeated England by 22 runs in the final.
  • Pakistan secured their first World Cup title.
  • The tournament featured colored clothing, a white ball, and matches under floodlights for the first time.
  • South Africa’s return to international cricket ended in controversy due to rain delays.

1987 in India and Pakistan:

  • Australia defeated England by 7 runs in the final.
  • Allan Border led Australia to their first World Cup title.
  • The tournament was reduced to 50 overs per side for the first time.
  • Chetan Sharma recorded the first hat-trick in a World Cup.
See also  🔥 Jaw-Dropping Squad Picks! Shocking Omissions & Surprising Inclusions: India's 2023 World Cup Dream Team Revealed! 🔥

1983 in England:

  • India defeated West Indies by 43 runs in the final.
  • India’s victory was a major upset against the reigning champions, West Indies.
  • Kapil Dev’s catches and Mohinder Amarnath’s all-round performance were pivotal.
  • This World Cup featured a 60-over format, and it was the first time colored clothing and floodlights were introduced.

1979 in England:

  • West Indies defeated England by 92 runs in the final.
  • The West Indies were dominant, with Viv Richards and Collis King playing pivotal roles.
  • Australia and the West Indies forfeited their group games due to security concerns.
  • The tournament featured thrilling matches and innovations in limited-overs cricket.

1975 in England:

  • West Indies defeated Australia by 17 runs in the final.
  • The inaugural World Cup featured eight teams and a 60-over format.
  • Gary Gilmour’s remarkable performance helped Australia reach the final.
  • India’s Sunil Gavaskar famously batted through all 60 overs against England.

These retrospectives showcase the rich history and memorable moments of the Cricket World Cup, building anticipation for the upcoming tournament in India.