Virat Kohli’s illustrious career continues to ascend as he amasses significant runs in the latter stages of his playing days. The 34-year-old cricketing icon from India emerged from a slump that spanned from late 2020 to mid-2022. Since notching his 71st century, ending a 1020-day run without one, Kohli has returned to his peak form across all formats.

He is now gearing up to participate in his fourth, and possibly final, ODI World Cup in 2023, with his sights firmly set on securing another title. When Kohli won the 2011 World Cup, he was a budding talent; today, he stands as a fully matured cricketer who has conquered the global cricketing arena and hopes to culminate his career with one last triumph and another ICC trophy in his grasp.

Kohli’s incredible achievements over the past 15 years have earned him a colossal fan base, even across the border in Pakistan, including former Pakistani fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar. Akhtar has consistently lauded Kohli for his extraordinary batting prowess and unflinching composure, especially when he performs under immense pressure, as was evident in last year’s T20 World Cup match between India and Pakistan in Melbourne.

See also  Never thought we’d lose five wickets: Rohit Sharma on India’s win in first ODI vs WI

During Kohli’s lean phase last year, a fan asked Akhtar to encapsulate Kohli in a single word. In a response that resonated with fans from both nations, Akhtar succinctly stated, “Legend already.”

This heartfelt response from Akhtar swiftly went viral, earning plaudits and admiration from cricket enthusiasts on both sides of the border. Kohli’s exceptional form was on full display when he hammered a remarkable century against Pakistan in the Asia Cup. Anticipation is running high as India and Pakistan are slated to face off in the upcoming 2023 World Cup on October 14 in Ahmedabad.

India’s 15-member squad for the 2023 World Cup includes Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (Vice-Captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, R Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Mohammed Siraj.