In the first ODI of the three-match series, India clinched a comfortable five-wicket victory over Australia. Opting to bat first, the Kangaroos managed to post a total of 276 runs within their allotted 50 overs. In response, the Men in Blue successfully chased down the target in 48.4 overs, with Mohammed Shami’s outstanding performance earning him the player of the match award for his impressive five-wicket haul.

Notably, India took the field without some of their star players, with KL Rahul taking charge of the team in the absence of Rohit Sharma. Fans widely praised KL Rahul’s leadership skills on social media, commending his effective rotation of bowlers. Additionally, at the age of 31, Rahul achieved a special milestone as a captain, a feat that neither MS Dhoni nor Virat Kohli managed during their respective tenures as India’s skipper.

This victory marked India’s first win against Australia at the PCA Stadium in Mohali since 1996. The last instance of the Men in Blue securing a win at Mohali was under the captaincy of Sachin Tendulkar, when India triumphed over Australia by a margin of 5 runs on November 3, 1996.

See also  Jonny Bairstow Answers Back To The Crictics For Calling Him ‘Rubbish’

Subsequently, Australia had gone on to win six out of the seven games they played at the PCA Stadium in Mohali. Even the formidable leadership of MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli failed to secure a win against the Men in Yellow in Mohali. However, with this recent triumph over Australia, India achieved the distinction of becoming the first team in Asia to hold the world No.1 ranking simultaneously in all formats of the game.