• 5 October 2023
  • Ana Gems
  • 0

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has been a breeding ground for extraordinary cricketing talent, especially among bowlers. With each passing season, we witness some exceptional bowling performances that leave fans in awe. In this article, we will delve into the top 10 highest wicket-takers in a single IPL season, celebrating the bowling maestros who have shone brightly in the world’s most prestigious T20 league.


The IPL is renowned for its thrilling contests, high-scoring encounters, and the dazzling display of cricketing skills. Bowlers play a pivotal role in deciding the fate of matches, and these individuals have exhibited their prowess by consistently taking wickets in a single season.

1. Dwayne Bravo – 32 Wickets (2013)

In the 2013 IPL season, Dwayne Bravo, the Caribbean all-rounder, delivered a sensational performance for the Chennai Super Kings. He claimed 32 wickets, a record that still stands as the highest wicket tally in a single season.

2. Lasith Malinga – 28 Wickets (2011)

Lasith Malinga, the Sri Lankan speedster, was a nightmare for batsmen during the 2011 IPL season. Representing the Mumbai Indians, he picked up 28 wickets, helping his team clinch the title.

See also  Unbelievable! Cricket Star David Warner's Epic 27-Day Social Media Showdown Will Leave You Speechless!

3. Bhuvneshwar Kumar – 26 Wickets (2017)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, India’s premier swing bowler, had a remarkable 2017 IPL season while playing for the Sunrisers Hyderabad. His 26 wickets were instrumental in the Sunrisers’ campaign.

4. Sunil Narine – 24 Wickets (2012)

The mystery spinner from the West Indies, Sunil Narine, made a significant impact in the 2012 IPL season. Turning out for the Kolkata Knight Riders, he bagged 24 wickets, earning the Purple Cap.

5. Imran Tahir – 26 Wickets (2019)

South African leg-spinner Imran Tahir mesmerized batsmen with his variations in the 2019 IPL season. Representing the Chennai Super Kings, he claimed 26 wickets, establishing himself as a top-notch spinner.

6. Kagiso Rabada – 30 Wickets (2020)

Kagiso Rabada, the fast-bowling sensation from South Africa, was unstoppable in the 2020 IPL season. Playing for the Delhi Capitals, he scalped 30 wickets, helping his team reach the final.

7. Morne Morkel – 25 Wickets (2012)

Morne Morkel, another South African pacer, had a fantastic 2012 IPL season with the Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals). His 25 wickets made him a vital asset for the team.

8. Amit Mishra – 26 Wickets (2013)

Amit Mishra, India’s leg-spin wizard, weaved his magic in the 2013 IPL season while representing the Sunrisers Hyderabad. He ended the season with 26 wickets, showcasing his artistry.

See also  Virat Kohli ने कहा पहले दो टेस्ट मैचों के खिलाफ हाजिरी के लिए नहीं, बीसीसीआई ने जारी किया बयान"

9. Rashid Khan – 22 Wickets (2018)

The Afghan sensation Rashid Khan has been a game-changer for the Sunrisers Hyderabad. In the 2018 IPL season, he took 22 wickets with his brilliant leg-spin bowling.

10. Jasprit Bumrah – 27 Wickets (2020)

Jasprit Bumrah, India’s premier fast bowler, showcased his prowess in the 2020 IPL season for the Mumbai Indians. His 27 wickets played a significant role in Mumbai’s title victory.


These remarkable bowling performances in the IPL not only reflect the individual brilliance of these bowlers but also emphasize their crucial role in the success of their respective franchises. They have left an indelible mark on the league’s history, inspiring young talents and captivating cricket enthusiasts worldwide.

As we eagerly await each IPL season, we look forward to witnessing more outstanding bowling displays and records being shattered by the next generation of cricketing stars.


1. Who holds the record for the most wickets in a single IPL season?

Dwayne Bravo holds the record for the most wickets in a single IPL season, with 32 wickets in the 2013 season.

See also  IPL 2024: हर्षित राणा को KKR vs SRH मैच के बाद 60% धनराशि का जुर्माना

2. Which bowler has consistently performed well in multiple IPL seasons?

Lasith Malinga has been a consistent performer in multiple IPL seasons, especially for the Mumbai Indians, where he has consistently taken wickets.

3. Are there any Indian bowlers among the highest wicket-takers in an IPL season?

Yes, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, an Indian bowler, features in the list of highest wicket-takers in a single IPL season, with 26 wickets in the 2017 season.

4. Who is the youngest bowler to feature in the list of highest wicket-takers in an IPL season?

Kagiso Rabada, from South Africa, is one of the youngest bowlers to feature in the list, with his impressive performance in the 2020 IPL season.

5. Where can I find the latest updates on IPL matches and statistics?

To get the latest updates on IPL matches, scores, and statistics, you can visit the official IPL website or follow reputable sports news websites and apps dedicated to cricket.