The ICC World Cup 2023 is scheduled to kick off on October 5th, commencing at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. This prestigious event will conclude with the final match slated for November 19th, also set to take place at the same venue.

In exciting news, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has unveiled the substantial prize money allocation for the ten participating teams in the ICC Men’s World Cup 2023, hosted in India. An impressive $10 million will be distributed among these cricketing nations.

The tournament format closely resembles that of the 2019 World Cup held in England. During the group stage, all ten teams will participate in a round-robin format, playing against each other once. Following this stage, the top four teams will progress to the semi-finals. In total, the tournament will feature 45 group stage matches, along with two exhilarating semi-final matches and a grand final, spanning a total of 46 days.

See also  Rohit Sharma's Shocking T20 Career Twist! Exclusive Peek at His Exciting T20 World Cup 2024 Plans in the USA!

This World Cup marks a historic moment as India takes sole responsibility for hosting the entire ODI World Cup. Previously, the ODI World Cup had been co-hosted twice in the subcontinent, with Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh sharing hosting duties in 1996 and 2011.

Now, let’s delve into the details of the prize money for the ICC World Cup 2023:

  • The victorious team that lifts the World Cup 2023 trophy will be awarded a substantial $4 million by the ICC, while the runner-up will receive a noteworthy $2 million.
  • The two teams that fall short in the semi-finals will each be granted $800,000.
  • Even for teams unable to reach the semi-finals, there is a consolation prize. Each of the six teams eliminated after the group stage will receive $100,000 from the ICC.
  • Additionally, there is an incentive for victory in every group stage match. Teams securing a win in this stage will earn $40,000 per triumph.
See also  India vs West Indies: A battle of two underachieving teams

All these figures contribute to a total prize pool of $10 million, provided by the ICC for the ICC World Cup 2023.

Here’s the breakdown of the ICC World Cup 2023 prize money:

  • Winner: $4,000,000
  • Runner-up: $2,000,000
  • Losing Semi-Finalists (2): $800,000 each
  • Teams eliminated after the group stage (6): $100,000 each
  • Winner of each group stage match (45): $40,000 each

In addition, before the official tournament commences, each participating team will have the opportunity to play two warm-up matches.